Team Mroz Weinstein- Established August 4, 2018

My fiancé, Bryan, and I have officially announced our wedding date. Shortly before the announcement, our friend Sam took engagement photos of us.  We wanted some of our pictures to have a running theme. Our love for working out has shown us that we are better together than we are alone.

DSCF0742

 

We both enjoy running and weight lifting, but our commitment to each differs. I am an avid runner and like racing distances like the half-marathon and marathon. Bryan is an avid weight lifter, and prefers shorter distance races like the 5k and half-marathon. His main focus is being stronger and lifting heavier, my main focus is running faster and longer. While some would say that I should be focusing on trying to convince Bryan he needs to run a marathon, or that he should convince me to cut back on the races and focus on being a stronger lifter, neither one of us really wants the other to change.

DSCF0511

Bryan’s passion for strength training helps me. Shortly after we started dating, he got me started on a lifting program, something I was never interested in before we met. Because of him, I can now, as a 28 year-old woman, do more pull-ups than I could as a fourteen year old kid! I go to him for advice whenever I need to work on strengthening certain muscles or when I am concerned about a potential injury.

DSCF0411

DSCF0827

My love of running has also, I believe, benefitted Bryan. Shortly after we started dating and I started following a weight-lifting program, he completed his first 5k (which was way better than my first 5k- kind of jealous!) and later on, a half-marathon. He won an age group award at his second 5k. He goes to me for advice on racing strategies and good running workouts.

DSCF0879

We are truly a team. I never thought I would ever be strong enough to complete a marathon, but Bryan believed in me. I love to tell the story of when I reached mile 26 of my first marathon. Bryan was running toward me frantically. I expected to hear words like “you’re doing great honey!” but instead I got “Hurry up! Hurry up!” I was kind of angry at first, but when I saw the clock and realized I could qualify for Boston, I understood.

DSCF0628

Team Mroz-Weinstein extends beyond the gym. We are both doctoral students in (hopefully) our last year of studies. I have sat through many physics presentation and proofread many lab reports. Bryan has attended theology conferences and proofread many papers on feminist theology or interreligious dialogue.

DSCF0858

Being graduate students and runners together has given us a greater understanding of what love should be. Love is when your dream becomes his dream, and his dream becomes your dream.

DSCF0800

DSCF0584

If you like these photos, check out more of Sam’s work here   or send him an e-mail at photography@hermeneuticlens.com.

4 thoughts on “Team Mroz Weinstein- Established August 4, 2018

Leave a Reply

